Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are students in college who learn other materials outside their major to enrich their knowledge. While some people believe in that, other college students argue that people should pay attention to their major instead of learning other subjects because it might distract their focus. In this essay, we will discuss from both perspectives. As a student, it is paramount to broaden and enrich their expertise with various resources. This learning enrichment would be helpful for them to pursue their career or research because there are some college students that could differentiate them from other people and might be a point-plus for them. For example, I was majoring in Computer Science, however, I went to an oil and mining class in another faculty because I wanted to pursue my dream in oil management computation and this subject was not available in my major. Therefore, attending other classes in different majors would benefit students with specific materials to which they aspire. Nevertheless, there must be boundaries between learning areas that still benefit the students because choosing other classes which not relevant to the main subject would distract their focus. In all classes, there are tasks that would deepen student's understanding and obviously, it will consume their time. Moreover, if the learning is not relevant to their major, they would end up spending their time finishing additional subjects whereas these subjects are not required to graduate. For instance, my friend in college attended philosophy class while her major was Computer Science, and when there was a mid-term exam, she put effort more into the philosophy class and failed in Calculus because she put more effort into learning about philosophy rather than her main major's subjects. In conclusion, it is important to filter which subjects outside student's main major that benefit them. To conclude, learning materials other than our main subject would provide us with broader knowledge. Nevertheless, it is important for students to be more selective about their education because they might learn subjects which not relevant to their major and it might distract their focus.