Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Recently, alternative medicines have been widely sought after by those who have health issues instead of going to see their conventional healthcare providers. This trend is growing dramatically and I think it contributes to a negative impact on both individual and societal levels as I will elaborate in this following essay. Ideally, conventional medicine should be the first choice of treatment for all medical conditions because it has been scientifically proven to be effective, and the side effects of these treatments have been methodologically studied so that healthcare professionals can tackle them with appropriate guidelines and manoeuvers. On the other hand, alternative medicines have been introduced to give more options for patients when the conventional treatment does not work as effectively as desired, or they can be an appropriate choice for palliative care when no more invasive intervention can improve the patient's conditions, for example, cancer patients with widespread metastasis, or old patients with organ failures. However, alternative treatments should be given under the supervision of professionals otherwise they can cause more problems than benefits. Unsupervised alternative treatments can be harmful to the patients because they might include substances or ingredients that can worsen disease conditions. It is too often that these medicinal herbs and products are found to have contained steroids, which in the beginning may seem to help relieve inflammation and pain in several conditions, but eventually lead to more infections and worsening of the body's immune system. Furthermore, some drugs might contain toxic materials including heavy metals and poisonous plants that cause patients morbidity and mortality, as well as more health burdens for hospital professionals. In addition, some people might take advantage of sick people by giving them controversial products and treatments solely to make money. The problem is worsened nowadays because there are advertisements for these medicines that are easily accessible to patients. The sellers may say that the drugs are promised to cure all kinds of illnesses. But when the disease conditions get worse, there will be nobody responsible for the harm that has been done. In conclusion, I believe that alternative medicines should be the second choice for disease treatments. If people go straight to alternative medicines when they are ill, especially from sources that are not verified, there would be more harmful consequences than actually improving the patient's health.