Children today have more responsibilities than the past. Some people think it has positive effects than negative ones while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the past children used to have more responsibilities in comparison with the current situations. Some have the idea that it has more benefits than what is occurring nowadays. From my point of view, the given responsibilities should be limited to what a child can handle. Having more responsibilities can prepare children for life. Due to the numerous duties that kids may be in charge of, life skills are encouraged and developed in a more effective way. Being influenced by the experience gained, the children are wiser to take appropriate measures to solve any issue imposed. In Japan, the education system promotes being responsible by encouraging the students to clean their school as part of their daily routines. Children who are used to taking more responsibilities can act more accurately in life. On the other hand, the reduction in the number of duties may provide more time for children to play which is fundamental to their mental health. We need to consider more time to play for children, if we want to have healthier children. Having numerous duties is harmful to their mental health as their capacity to handle and deal with many tasks is limited. In Africa, there are many kids deprived of childhood as they have to work like grown-up adults. Play is vital for every child as it brings satisfaction and happiness. In conclusion, although some have the notion that preparing children for life by giving them different responsibilities is crucial, I think the need to play should considered as the first priority for any child.