Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some university students are passionate about learning additional subjects along with their main subjects. Meanwhile, others are convinced that it is better to focus mostly on their qualification studies. In my opinion, it is good to be an all-rounder and learn as much as possible and be a well-read person for your own sake. On the other hand, it might be tough to learn multiple things at once, and you will probably burn out quickly. In the first place, learning multiple disciplines will lead to intellectual growth in various fields and also acquire new skills. Not only will learning additional subjects improve your knowledge in different areas, but also it will definitely help in your main learning because science is very complex and can consist of many aspects that you may not learn as your main subject. For instance, BBC news reported that the best professionals in their field did additional studies apart from their major. In contrast, keeping up with a numerous studies is quite a challenge. Many people want to sit on two chairs at once but face hardships in keeping up with several additional researches along with their central focus and end up with getting overwhelmed of consuming a lot of information which subsequently leads to burnout. For example, survey from Oxford University students showcases that 45% of respondents gave up on the idea of studying extra subjects because they got burned out. In conclusion, even if the idea of knowing as much as possible is tempting, it is important to keep in mind your maximum in order to avoid overworking yourself and ending up with nothing.