In many societies, unpaid work such as volunteering or internships is becoming increasingly common. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of unpaid work.

In the epoch of multiform jobs, most societies have provided unpaid jobs, including volunteering and internships. Moreover, the number of these kinds of jobs is escalating. While this social phenomenon definitely has a host of advantages, it is not without its disadvantages. This essay will weigh the benefits against the drawbacks. First and foremost, a compelling merit of increased unpaid work is that benefits the personal development of the younger generation. Accordingly, it is a proper place that provides transformation for graduates from theories to practical. For example, graduates who major in social work have more opportunities to find internships to allow them can practice their academic theories in the real world in Singapore. Moreover, that also can help them improve their competition for fierce working areas. After all, internship experience obviously helps graduates improve their chances of getting an offer from their dream career. Moreover, unpaid work benefits the development of children's skills, especially interpersonal skills. This is because volunteering definitely provides a larger pool of opportunities that allow participants to interact with others. For instance, students need to think about the tactics for cooperating with their team workers during the volunteering jobs. All in all, children chiefly cultivate their social skills during the process of finishing volunteering jobs. Nevertheless, unpaid work may impair workers' rights, if these types of jobs are utilized by some notorious companies or employees. For this reason, unpaid work means that employers cannot pay their salaries to their employees and some companies may use their authority privilege to exploit graduates ' rights. In this case, some institutions attract some applications by promising to give internship experience, and coerce employees to finish an unreasonable workload but do not pay money. Ergo, unpaid work may become a new method bringing a potential risk for impariation of employees ' rights. The gist of the matter is that an increasing number of unpaid workers appearing has merits and demerits. While it is constructive for new graduates or children to learn more diversity of skills, there also exists a potential risk for an employee who takes part in volunteering jobs. Therefore, it is arduous to arbitrate which one is better.