International tourism has brought great benefits to many places. However, there are serious concerns about its impact on the local environment and residents. Do the negative effects of international tourism outweigh its benefits?

The tourism industry can bring sufficient benefits for the development of many countries. However, it also can have some detrimental effects on the local environment and people of the tourist destinations. This essay will explain why I believe the benefits of this phenomenon can surpass its possible downsides. Considering firstly on disadvantages of international tourism, an important one is that this would ruin the local environment of the country that tourists will choose to visit. A number of them might not be cultured which destroys monuments to take than as souvenirs to their family. Another cause that many experts are worried about is cultural invasions. They believe when people from other nations come to another one, the local residents would encourage themselves to be like them in terms of clothes and actions. If the native people continue to copy the tourists, this would significantly hinder the future generation from gaining knowledge about the true cultural heritage of their past. However, by implementing policies and fostering a view of national origins, countries are able to control these demerits. On the other hand, the main advantage of the tourism industry is economic development. This is because visitors from other regions will definitely bring money to spend, additionally, this is the primary income of many countries such as Turkey and Sri Lanka. Therefore, if these countries had no tourist to visit them, they would be bankrupted while their finance is based on this industry. Moreover, another significant merit is that it can help nations to be seen by others while tourists might put experiences and their feelings on their social media accounts like Facebook and Instagram. This will result in promoting the visited country and increase the pace of its evolution. To conclude, I think that tourism can bring economic development and promote a country in the world outweigh the disadvantages if the authorities prevent its potential demerits like environmental effects and impacts on local culture.