Some people think that government should tax unhealthy foods to encourage people to eat healthier. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, eating habits have changed immensely in the last two or three decades and it is continuously changing day by day. Few folks believe that government should apply a tax on unhealthy bread to decrease the intake in the community and others are opposed to it. However, I totally agree with the given statement due to several possible reasons which I believe should be considered seriously, and the following paragraphs will expatiate both stances with lucid examples. To commence with, the first and foremost reason for taxing bread which is not good for us is to encourage the community to eat much healthier food. By saying this what I mean is nation used to check the price before buying a grocery which ultimately helps them to increase the intake of high protein instead of high calories as they are cheapable. For example: most of the businesses provide free soft drinks with meals to raise their revenue which makes the crowd addicted to these drinks. Therefore, it causes several health problems such as diabetes, addiction etc. According to the U.S.A. scenario, there sales of soft drinks were reduced by 50% because of extra money on them. On the other side, most members of society disagree as they think that it is one of the ways of making money by democracy because the population need self-awareness to eat healthier meals. To illustrate, smoke is one of the most expensive products but humans are still smoking either because of awareness or self-control. Thus, the primary step for the government is to provide education related to diseases like high intake of oil can cause obesity, high blood pressure etc. To conclude, although, regulating extra pay on food items is a great measure to control unhealthy pieces of bread we can't deny that self-awareness is also one of the great tools to prevent certain diseases.