Many people argue that free public transportation should be available in most major cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea?

It is a common belief that the availability of public transportation should be made free in most big cities. Subsequently, it raised an argument from both sides of the advantages as well as disadvantages. This essay will elucidate from both perspectives and explain the occurrence of the notion. On the one hand, the advancement of technology brings a lot of benefits for society to enjoy, the same thing can be said for the development of public transportation. To elaborate, nowadays people can get to wherever they want with the vast convenience of general transportation,especially for people who live in huge cities. Moreover, general transportation usually runs in the most easily accessible and popular areas. Subsequently, public transportation has become the favourite society to transport. Therefore, it is a valid argument that free public transportation should be made free so that people from different social levels can benefit from it. On the flip side, while the idea of free public transportation could bring advantages,especially for the development of massive cities, it also has a downside to the aforementioned plan. To give an example, in order to provide the full benefits of free access to transportation, governments should also give thought to undeveloped cities in their countries and not just focus on the central cities. Additionally, it can come off as an unfair treatment for society if authorities only apply the free benefits of public transportation to big city residents. Therefore, if the pupils are not given fair treatment, it can cause a dispute between them which is a disadvantage that needs to be avoided. To sum up, the idea of free access to general transportation can be a good thing, especially for big city citizens. Conversely, it can also be argued that the National governments should not only focus on the advancement of this for major cities but also for the rural areas as well. To prevent the disadvantages of the greater plan of transportation.