Nowadays, people are living an increasingly longer life and in many countries there are more old people than young people. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, there is a phenomenon that the mean survival time of greybeards in most regions of the world is much higher than in the last decades. Although some individuals are concerned about the several numbers of issues that the government are facing, many experts assume that the consequences of this trend have several positive impacts on the place we live in. I completely support the idea that the increasing age of elders has more disadvantages than benefits, such as the expenditures of health, special facilities, and retirement salary that authorities have to consider and spend on. To begin with, the medical care and health insurance costs for people who are more than 65 years old are by no means negligible. Elders’ medical issues usually start at the beginning of this age. Therefore, governments have to devote a significant part of their annual budget to this subject. In fact, manifold diseases such as cardiac, mobility and endocrine disorders need to be screened, diagnosed and cured in this decade. For instance, it is proved that insurance companies usually pay more than 75% of their expenditures to old people as they need more monitoring as compared to youngsters. Hence, states encounter several costs as the community becomes older. Secondly, old people sometimes require specific amenities that are suitable for them. A salient example is, public transportations have to be designed for this age category. This is because some typical bus and train stations are tough to access and governments have to construct various types of elevators and escalators to make life easier for these individuals. Finally, based on negotiations, this group of public have to be paid their retirement income and I guess it is one of the greatest matters that countries have to struggle with. In conclusion, considering the points discussed above, as population grow older, this leads to several negative influences on the society they live in and the disadvantages certainly outweigh the advantages.