Scientists tell us that some activities are good for health and others are bad. Despite knowing that, millions of people still continue doing unhealthy activities. What are the causes and what are the solutions for this?

Although several activities are considered to positively affect people's health, a rising level of people continually maintains detrimental ones. In my opinion, stress relief and addictive habits are two major factors; and likewise, both the government and individuals should take steps to break the habit. There are numerous reasons associated with continuous engagement in harmful activities. The first reason is that individuals find a sedentary lifestyle to cope up with stress and depression. This is because those who have mental illness spend most of their time lying down and lack physical exercises. In fact, lack of exercise on a regular basis can result in a greater risk of developing lifestyle diseases such as obesity, cardiovascular diseases, and cancer. Another reason is that many detrimental habits such as smoking, eating junk food or excessive gaming can be addictive and are not easy to break. For example, junk food high in sugar releases dopamine; therefore it triggers our brain to overeat. There are several actions that could be taken to mitigate the problems mentioned above. Firstly, it is vital for the government to take steps to break bad habits by limiting the advertisement of fast food on social media, whereas a healthy lifestyle should be further promoted. With a sense of self-protection and knowledge that everybody around them practises the same habit, I believe that people would find it easier to break their old habits. Secondly, the younger generation should take small steps by self-educating about the detrimental impacts of an imbalanced diet in order to have right food choices that are good for their health. In conclusion, there are various factors leading to a large number of citizens participating in unhealthy activities denying expert warnings and measures that can be implemented to tackle this issue.