Some people think that books are losing importance as source as information and entertainment. To what extent do you agree?

Although books are a great source of knowledge and amusement, few individuals argue that the importance of books is decreasing day by day. I strongly agree with this statement because of several reasons namely the internet and different technological gadgets. Firstly, the easy accessibility of the internet is creating distances between books and people. This is simply because, in the present time, almost everyone in this world has access to the internet, which humans are using not only for learning but also for enjoyment. Due to unlimited options available on the internet, people are no longer limited to certain genres of novels, in addition, almost everything present on the internet is free of cost, resulting, in encouraging people to use the internet rather than using any other sources of knowledge like books. YouTube an application, for instance, is popular in all age groups because it provides different content based on the interest of people without any charges. Furthermore, numerous gadgets in the market are also a reason why people do not like to use books for several purposes, especially, entertainment. With the advancement in technology, a person can use different types of devices where he or she can play games, watch movies and many more. To illustrate, gadgets like Playstations and Virtual reality are widely used by adults and teenagers to spend their leisure time. On top of that websites like Netflix and Amazon Prime are full of various sorts of movies and dramas which can be watched by a juvenile as well as an older individual. In conclusion, books are losing its significance because of technology and the developments related to it. In this era, with few clicks on mobile phones or laptops, people can access any information of the globe which not only saves them time but also their money. I believe that technology is a major cause which has completely alerted the preferences of humans towards books.