Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Although, learning foreign language at primary school level is thought to be much more benefical than that of the secondary school. In my opinion, early exposure to foreign language education is thought to bring about more drawbacks than the perceived benefits. Admittedly, there are a few basic benefits of studying foreign language at primary level. Firstly, it provides them with an early exposure along with the longer duration for one to get proficient. Studying german language, for instance, requiring six levels to be certified, one can start preparing for exams earlier, giving him ample time and not rushing later in their early twenties. Secondly, getting proficiency at an early age helps by getting early exposure to student-exchange programs, which could mould the career path for foreign education. This in turn, paves way for increased job opportunities early in their career, along with increased self-satisfication. Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, I believe the drawbacks from early foreign language exposure to school kids are hard to neglect. First and foremost, an additional foreign language course brings an undue pressure on the students mind from an early age to perform, on the top of the existing subjects. For example, this has proved to be detrimental to early child's success and a leading cause of depression in kids. Moreover, an additional foreign language is the leading cause of concentration distraction among the students, causing him to focus less on their mother tongue, which in turn proving detrimental in the grades and their fluency. In conclusion, undue mental pressure to perform along with the decreased fluency due to added distraction far outweighs any potential benefits of increased exposure and benefits due to foreign language offered in terms of job and student-exchange programs.