The best way to motivate employees is to increase their salaries. Do you agree with this statement? Are there any other ways to encourage employees to work more efficiently?

Employees require continuous encouragement to foster a productive environment. It is argued that a great remuneration is the right method to keep them motivated, however, I believe hefty paychecks alone are insufficient, and additional measures are necessary to sustain a healthy work culture and maintain momentum. Solid financial stability is one of the lifelong goals for every individual which can only be achieved by a good salary. In this expensive world, one cannot survive without a proper income. Thus, a periodic increase in yearly paycheck is essential to help individuals to lead a comfortable life and equip them to support their family and society. Yet, it wouldn't be enough to maintain a consistent productive work environment. Another measure that can encourage workers is the initiation of Reward programs. There should be periodic assessments of employee performance. Monetary incentives such as performance-based annual bonuses and non-monetary appreciations like “Employee of the Month” should be awarded to the most fulfilling candidates. Through this method, employees will be motivated when they realize their efforts have been recognized. Finally, employers should know the pulse of their employees. This can be achieved by connecting with them personally or through conducting surveys. Gauging feedback is significantly important to know if the employees are happy with their work environment and need any additional support in terms of training or new opportunities. Moreover, surveys can reveal any interpersonal issues or conflicts within the team. To conclude, while a salary increment is an undeniable need for every employee, it on its own is not sufficient to inspire them. Effective people management programs such as Rewards programs, Pulse surveys, and one-on-one meetings with employees are the additional methods employers should adopt to maintain a productive work momentum.