Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a “gap year”; before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to a broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

From a very young age, my parents challenged me with complex courses and different clubs. At the age of four, I learned the English language, which was the third language after Kazakh and Russian. At the age of six, I played the piano and started my career in sports-ballroom dances; these hobbies taught me to be disciplined and ambitious, because there are no limitations to personal growth. As a teenager, I discussed with my parents about our own impact on the world and society, therefore, the desire to make a positive influence led me to another challenge. My parents’ business specializes in wooden toys, so I worked as a volunteer at my parents’ shop to analyze the market, apply some strategies to increase the number of customers and also recognize some trends in wooden toys at present. This experience and my parents’ involvement gave me the most valuable opportunity to try myself in business and that is why I chose this field as my future occupation.