Some people think that schools should teach students to be more competitive. Others argue that schools should focus on teamwork and collaboration. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While some people maintain that students should be competitive, others contend that teamwork is more important to teach in school. I believe that teamwork is essential to foster social skills while being competitive is equally significant to encourage individuals to push their limits. Teamwork helps students foster strong interpersonal relationships and learn how to collaborate effectively with others. This can be done by giving students a challenge that is only solvable in a group. For instance, escape rooms are not only fun, but also teach individuals to work as a team to solve a riddle in a given time frame. In addition, by learning each other's strengths and weaknesses, people can support one another to reach substantial goals. On the other hand, competition encourages individuals to push their limits and strive to achieve more than they would have otherwise. For example, many world records have been set due to people pushing each other to greater scores. One instance of this is the strongman competitions, where an athlete reached a deadlift of five hundred kilos, not because of the training effect alone, but because of the will to lift more than their opponents. This same concept can be applied to reaching better grades in school and becoming smarter in the process. Therefore, competition is fundamental for achieving goals beyond one's imagination. In conclusion, while teamwork can help people solve problems by working together, competition can increase individuals ' motivation and goals. Therefore, teaching both teamwork and competition should be combined and supported equally in schools.