In some countries, people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons for this? How to change their views?

The tendency of global tourism has created the concern of its negative impacts on a nation by the locals. This essay will discuss the potential causes of this problem before suggesting recommendations that can be made to change this negative attitude towards international travellers. A number of perspectives indicate that foreign visitors are disadvantageous to their nation for some following factors. Firstly, the increase in the amount of tourists results in the increase of local waste. To illustrate, most travellers do not clean their trash after enjoying their time at the beach despite all locals' efforts to dispose of waste effectively. This can result in water, air and soil contamination. Another reason is the disrespectful behaviour of visitors to the local culture, such as mocking traditional customs. This can foster anger and conflict with communities, leading to fewer places being willing to support the country's tourism. However, the problem can be solved by active approaches. The city's governance can consider installing more trash bins and garbage collection in tourist attractions, for example, waterfall landscapes. Additionally, clearly publicized penalties for those inclined to litter can enhance locals' attempts to protect their habitat as well the revenue from fines can fund the nation's tourism development. Furthermore, tour guides need to inform visitors properly about the local culture, for instance, wearing a short skirt when visiting a pagoda is inappropriate. From that travellers can acknowledge the differences in culture and show respect. In conclusion, the concerns about the negative influences of international visitors are caused due to the tourists' irresponsibility and disrespectful behaviour toward a region and its traditions. However, the problem can be eased by the support from the government and the local community.