In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays with the advanced technology and healthcare system, an increasing number of countries possess a larger proportion of elderly population compared to the previous generation. While some argue that having a larger group of elderly may somehow harm the governments, there are invisible upsides that ageing people can bring to societies. In this essay, I will discuss both the advantages and the disadvantages of this topic, and why it benefits us in general. As regards the drawbacks of having a large ageing population, the government may be burdened with a high rate of hospitalization and insufficient budgets. For example, numerous reports have disclosed that over 20% of older adults suffer from health issues and are inevitably hospitalized. The high cost of the healthcare system puts a threat on the government's budgets, resulting in a greater burden on taxpayers as well. Additionally, governments in present days emphasize a comprehensive and thorough welfare system, which makes offering sufficient care towards aged individuals their responsibility, leading to imbalanced welfare resources if there is an increasing number of elder people in society. On the other hand, elderly people play a crucial role in providing cultural and historical heritage. For instance, Japan has the greatest elderly population among all countries, with nearly half of its population being old individuals. They act as great instructors in various fields such as politicians, educators, and scientists, who pass on valuable experiences and knowledge to youngsters. Moreover, the professionalism they accumulated for years is incomparable with other age groups, contributing to all the advanced technology and constructive utilities that we've seen these days in Japan. Hence, the advantages of having an ageing community are undeniable and unerasable. In conclusion, despite there are some drawbacks we may see with the growing population of elderly, our society depends on the invaluable and precious insights from older groups of the public. Without their existence, the culture, history and knowledge that shape our identity may be lost.