Some people believe that culture will be ruined if it is used to earn tourism revenue, but others consider that tourism is the best way of protecting culture. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

A controversial discussion point is whether tourism is ruining or saving the culture. While the author contends that the tourist industry is preserving the traditions because of generating money for maintaining buildings and keeping cultural features, some critics believe unique cultures will soon be demolished because of a lack of awareness. It should be acknowledged that the unique features of a country can be preserved through tourism. Since the public can come into contact with and become aware of historical buildings and landscapes, these racial characteristics can be recorded and passed down. Thanks to it, intangible cultural heritage can be preserved safely. Therefore, tourism is playing a vital role in keeping these traits alive through time. However, critics who assume the deterioration in ethnic sites come from the vacation industry argue that tourists are destroying the traditions of the whole country because of a lack of awareness. People nowadays seem to have destroyed a large part of global heritage, touching artefacts, carving names on caves’ walls and dropping litter uncontrollably. These actions all lead to downgrades in sites and structures. Nonetheless, even without human involvement, the quality of these heritage will still slowly be destroyed by time. Therefore, humans should not be the only ones to be blamed. It is the opinion of the writer that the vacation industry is recovering ethnic sites. Since tourism is thriving constantly, large profits can be generated easily. Therefore, the funding required for repairing and recovering traditional structures is no longer a notable concern. To sum up, despite having a few setbacks, tourism has proved to be extremely helpful in protecting and preserving cultural features.