differences between countries become less evident each year. nowadays, all over the world people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and tv channels. do the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the advantages?

This modern world has become a global village. It is even seen that individuals from across the world make similar clothing and meal choices, as well as watch the same television stations due to digitalization. I will say this has more drawbacks than benefits. There are many modern trends that I think negatively affect various countries. To begin with, every country is built on its unique culture. Current trends like watching movies from Western countries leave imprints in the minds of people who gradually begin to copy these foreign lifestyles. To illustrate this, in Africa, parents were trained by our forefathers that a suitable way to discipline a child is through corporal punishment. Meanwhile, this is not what is shown in foreign movies. An African child who watches multiple Western movies and learns their system frowns on caning a child may begin to resent his or her African parents for no fault of theirs. I will say this cultural brainwashing through films is to the disadvantage of the African parent. To add to this, clothing defines culture. However, in,Ghana our local prints are gradually fading away because of the white custom. Most Ghanaians dress like their favourite celebrities. For instance, at my workplace, my colleague Florence dresses like Michelle Obama because she is her mentor. She even shares with us she doesn't have a single sewn African print clothes and she buys all her exotic attire online. I think copying such fashion taste will eventually dwindle our unique clothing style and I wonder if generations to come will know we had prints that identified us as Ghanaians. In spite of the drawbacks of globalisation, technology has made it possible for people to learn other national delicacies and even have access to fruits and vegetables that are not grown in their home country. For example, grapes are not grown in Ghana but happen to be my favourite fruit. I'm able to enjoy it freely now due to importation. Also, I like to cook and enjoy trying out various Chinese recipes which are very enjoyable. This is a grave benefit to all individuals all over the world to change their regular pattern of eating and even achieve balanced diets. To sum up, people from all walks of life sharing the same fashion taste, consuming common foods and viewing the same television channels is making citizens of various countries lose their identity as a people. This is a serious issue and more disadvantageous than advantageous