Some company sponsors sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think that it is good, while others think there are disavantages to this. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Advertising is a norm during sports. Companies not only sponsor matches but also provide sportsmen with many other advantages in order to keep their businesses up. However, a fraction of people believe that this has messed up the real spirit of sports in many ways. I opine that finances are really necessary for games and advertisements should continue the way they are. Firstly, sponsors are a strong pillar for players as they help them in keeping their finances right. It helps them to stay focused on their game and play with their full potential instead of worrying about other things on the ground. Secondly, these corporations create awareness about games in the masses by investing in them, thus attracting common men and fuelling their interest. For example, a local bank that is the biggest sponsor of our country's league has made sure to advertise it everywhere and garner viewership. On the other hand, a lot of such money can sometimes take away the passion to perform for the country as sportsmen are already having everything in their accounts. For instance, the IPL has brought a large amount of money for cricketers therefore, many of them now prefer to play the league more and are not very interested in playing for the national team. Another disadvantage of this issue is that it can bring down the moral values of individuals and they need to accommodate things that are bad for the general population like alcohol and betting. To conclude, I would like to say that though it has a few drawbacks, monetary help is the need of the hour for leisure activities. Current times are based on strong competition and comparisons, thus these associations should play their part in the national cause.