Lack of fresh is becoming a global issue of increasing importance. What problems does this shortage cause? What measures could be taken to overcome this problem?

Lack of pure water sources is becoming a worldwide problem which is of rising importance because it declines productivity in the agricultural field and is a detriment to human health. This essay is going to elaborate on some of the solutions to curtail this menace in the forthcoming paragraphs. First and foremost, this issue of lack of clean water which has become a cause of concern to the world has a major effect on our agriculture and farming sectors. Since the water is needed for the cultivation of crops for food through irrigation and to feed our livestock and because these water bodies are polluted it renders poor yields hence a shortage of food. Also, the contamination of water bodies poses health challenges to humans such as typhoid and diarrhoea just to mention a few when consumed thereby wasting resources for the global economy as it is said " health is wealth". For instance, Ghana is battling the canker of illegal mining which has destroyed about 80% of the major water bodies and the government is struggling to solve this problem. Furthermore, to tackle this global menace, governments should put in place stringent laws to protect our hydro sources and offenders to these orders should face the law. Again, companies and factories which direct their waste products into the water bodies should find a proper channel for disposal and lastly, citizens should have self-discipline in protecting their own source of water. To conclude, the shortage of fresh water has become a major challenge of global interest because it is affecting our farming activities negatively and causing health problems for humans, authorities and individuals need a collective effort to tackle this situation.