Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Modern communication devices have long been an indispensable tool providing people with instant access to telecommunication. However, it is believed that the increasing use of digital communication methods such as emails or text messaging has a negative impact on young individuals’ reading and writing skills. In my opinion, I completely agree with this viewpoint. The idea that using computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on people ’s writing and reading skills is reasonable to some extent. Firstly, text message users get used to the abbreviated language. For instance, instead of writing complete sentences, young people tend to use shorthand language such as LOL (laugh out loud) or BRB (be right back) to convey their message quickly. While this language might be enough for casual messages in daily life, it might not be acceptable in formal emails or business communication. As a result, the habit of using incorrect grammar and spelling words could hinder their writing skill in other contexts. Secondly, young people are less likely to read books or long articles. With the growing popularity of technological gadgets, there are more and more ways which could help people receive information shorter and quicker. For example, instead of reading a full-length novel, young people might prefer shorter versions such as blogs or listen to many book-reader applications as they could be read and shared quickly without losing too much effort. Therefore, the increasing use of electronic devices in communication could shorten people ’s reading comprehension. In conclusion, I totally agree with the idea that the trend of using computers and mobile phones could hinder young people's writing and reading skills due to aforementioned reasons.