Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Most countries spend more money on strengthening transport facilities as it is vital for the smooth functioning of any country. However, some argue that it is more appropriate to spend on railways than on roads by their governing authorities. I totally disagree with the above statement and this essay will discuss what the reasons are behind the disagreement due to the reasons of cost perspective as well as usability frequency of roads than railways. To begin with, infrastructure facilities make huge costs to the government. There is no debt that constructing roads is more cost-effective than providing train facilities. For instance, if any government consider constructing a railway, they need to purchase high-quality trains, build a railway station and so on. Further, maintenance cost is also high for this transport method. However, roads are cheaper and maintenance can be done more easily than trains. Another point is that the number of passengers using roads is increasing day by day due to the convenience. If someone needs to go on a train, they have to follow the train schedules imposed by the relevant authorities and are unable to use it at any time. Hence, people tend to use their private vehicles or public buses which are available conveniently. For example, high- and middle-class families own their cars, which they use to travel with families easily and do not want to wait for trains. Therefore, it is confirmed that more people use roads for their journeys. In conclusion, I believe that governments should spend on roads compared to railways as it is less costly. Moreover, using railways are comparatively low due to the less flexibility and inconvenience.