In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the future, neither newspapers nor books will be popular and people prefer to read everything online for free. I completely agree that nobody will buy any printed news or books in the near future and in this essay, I will explain my reasons. On the one hand, with the rapid development of technology, an increasing number of people tend to use the internet as their main source of news because not only is it convenient, but also it is inexpensive. For one thing, almost every individual can access numerous news websites and learn about the latest events without having to wait for the next day to buy a newspaper. Interestingly, accessibility to all these huge amounts of news is available at a comparatively low cost. What is more, unlike newspapers, online news websites are interactive so that readers can express their opinions by leaving comments. These reasons show that newspapers will be replaced completely by online news. However, with regards to books, I believe that the trend will be different to some extent for a couple of reasons. First, books have a cultural value in almost every country and almost every household keep a library that contains books from different fields. Second, books are used as a decorative feature in many homes. For instance, I have a library with many books and some vases which is adored by anyone who visits me in my home. Last but not least, when it comes to literary books such as poems and novels, reading printed books and thumbing through pagesfeels better from psychological point of view. For instance, I cannot stand reading an electronic version of a novel because it is so tedious to me. In conclusion, I would argue that although online news sites will completely take the place of newspapers, specific categories of books will continue to keep their popularity to some extent.