Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an aging population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

The aging population has an indispensable role to play in the context of anthropological history. Some people harbour a belief that it can create issues for governments, whilst others hold the reverse viewpoint. I partially agree with this statement. From my perspective, it is a very controversial issue deserves an in-depth discussion. On the one hand, the main argument in its favour is that having more elderly people can put pressure on the healthcare system. There is a tendency for the government to spend more budget on public healthcare than last decade, which is known as a modern social phenomenon in developing countries. Moreover, people occasionally realize the context of the fact that without enough young adults can cause a labor shortage. For instance, the government can face higher labour costs problems and the burden on taxpayers. These indicate that the ageing population indeed brings some negative effects. On the other hand, some research also showed that elders can also bring some positive effects to society. According to the latest report from the Ministry of the Interior in Taiwan, having more professional experience and life experience can create more economic benefits in the work field, such as the high-tech and education industries. Besides the aforementioned, the elderly also create the demand for different fields, such as health equipment and health services, which means that they can boost economic growth. Based on such compelling evidence, it appears that ageing populations can generate potential positive effects. In summary, despite the fact that the unbalanced population structure has some demerits, their merits must not be ignored. Thus, it is imperative that governments should develop public service for the future tendency, in order to create a win-win situation for all age populations.