Some people say that in the modern world, getting old is entirely bad. Others, however, say that life for the elderly nowadays is much better than it was in the past. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

No one is left behind in this modern world. Everyone has to adjust, adapt and survive in a world of modern technologies and constant changes. Elderly people too have to face the race of life in the contemporary world. However, some people believe that getting old in the current world is entirely bad while others believe it is a blessing. I will discuss both views in this essay to convey an opinion on the views. On the one hand, no matter what era we live in, getting old is not a walk in the park. Elderly people face several issues, one being a decline in their physical health. For instance, nowadays people rarely get proper exercise and they hardly have healthy meals throughout their lifetime. As a result, the majority of the older generation suffers from various diseases such as cancer, heart problems, diabetes and cholesterol. In addition, they are exposed to new diseases because of global warming and weather changes. Moreover, parents tend to live away from their kids or children, which makes them lonely. Consequently, they will suffer from different mental health issues such as anxiety, and depression due to social isolation and loneliness. Hence, a decline in physical and mental health is a major concern for adults these days. On the other hand, modern technological advancements make the elderly life better. In ancient times, the older generation had less access to healthcare and got fewer benefits from the government. In contrast, the developed world now offers comprehensive healthcare facilities and they have access to authentic medicine. Therefore, they can enjoy their life and have a considerably longer lifetime compared to previous generations. For instance, scientists are developing a cure for cancers, that can increase the expected lifetime of cancer patients. Furthermore, aged care facilities and carers are available for people in need, which allows them companionship and in return reduces the risk of social isolation or loneliness. Also, these facilities act as a safe haven for people who need to spend their life leisurely. Surprisingly, nowadays age does not matter for personal growth or further education.Most of the universities, schools or online platforms provide numerous opportunities for personal growth in people over 55. Additionally, different programs or workshops by private or public organizations provide elderly people an opportunity to try out new things or make a living out of their hobbies. In conclusion, there are several drawbacks of living in a modern fast-paced world as elderly person as they are exposed to the risk of diseases, can be socially isolated and experience feelings of loneliness. On the contrary, they have easy access to proper healthcare and medications, they can experience community engagement and personal growth. It is evident to say that these cons outdraw the pros they have due to the developments in the modern world.