Some people think that the Olympics is no longer necessary in the 21st century. ‎To what extent do you agree or disagree?‎

These days, with a wide variety of different sports, there is an opinion that there is no need for the Olympic games anymore. Although the Olympics are losing popularity, I still believe that people should watch these games. To begin, even though the Olympic games have become less preferred to watch, especially among the young generation, there are many significant benefits of this activity. One of the positives is that watching professional athletes participating in competitions, encourages both youngsters and adults to do sport, be healthier and improve their physical and mental wellbeing. Moreover, watching the Olympic events provide young people an opportunity to choose the sport they like and to be inspired by a professional sportsman to perform better. For example, naturally energetic and active children will find it easier to select what exact sport they want to do, as they will be introduced to a variety of performers in the Olympics. Additionally, the Olympics should continue existing in the World, because the games unite different nations together. Hence, by combining sportsmen from different countries this event introduces diversity and an inclusive community. Moreover, during sports contests, people ignore the issues in the world and become more peaceful. For instance, during the Olympics, Americans and Russians fairly compete and even embrace each other. This explains that rather than focusing on political debates, humans concentrate on great abilities, such as collaboration, respect and politeness. In conclusion, even though some individuals neglect the Olympics, they still hold merit. Olympic events motivate people to be better and help them to cultivate intercultural understanding.