Some people say governments should give priority to health care, while others believe that taxpayers’ money should be spent on other important priorities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate regarding which public services should be prioritised to invest the government funds. While some people believe that more money should be spent on health care systems, others claim that it must be invested in other sectors, such as public transport facilities and education. In my opinion, I strongly agree with both views, and authorities should balance their investments to improve the overall access to these services. On the one hand, improving health care makes treatments easily affordable for people during critical times. This means that more investments in diagnosis, building new hospitals, and purchasing new medical equipment help improve the public access to such services. Therefore, early diagnosis and treatment can be provided, which will increase the longevity of patients. For example, in India, the government has increased their allocation of tax money on building new hospitals in order to provide efficient medical services, which has significantly reduced the treatment wait times. On the other hand, critics argue that the other public services, such as reliable mass transit and education, should be prioritised. This is because, traffic congestion is a major concern for many cities, which causes significant inconvenience for the community. By funding, this would improve the reliability and efficiency of such transits, while reducing the reliance on private cars. Furthermore, certain schools in rural regions do not have access to the required resources and materials to teach education effectively. This development will provide a stable education system to children living in rural regions. For instance, in many developing countries, policymakers are prioritising improvements on bus networks and schools, and, as a result, they can prevent the urban sprawl from happening. In conclusion, although there are differing opinions on spending tax money for different public services, I believe that it is the responsibility of governments to allocate funds equally to all important sectors to provide efficient access to people. Therefore, in my opinion, a balanced approach should be maintained to prevent overallocation of money in certain sectors such as health care or transport, which will enhance the overall development of society.