Some believe that younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting older family members when they become physically, mentally and financially unable to look after themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, taking care of elderly members of the family has contributed to a relevant problem in the world. Some people assert that the younger generation is accountable for legally providing mental, physical and financial help to older. Excluding some strong rationales, I maintain the same viewpoint on this concept, perceiving that this behaviour has been included in numerous cultures from one generation to another. To begin with, it is irrefutable that we owe our lives to our parents, because they almost have been dedicating their own lives to our offspring. It can be considered into account that humanity often has been helping needy ones, who are either unable or weak in any groups of age. For example, in most countries, namely in Muslim regions it is a commitment and tradition to look after the elderly, which has been adhered by ancestors to the new generation of youngsters. Thus, this is one of the compelling reasons why family members can be merged legally with cement bonds and continue this value to the next descendants. In addition, today the government has provided specific support for those who are unable to look after older members due to hectic schedules and financial problems. However, such programs have not been successfully developed in the majority of countries, which aggravates the opportunity to take a carer, get a stable pension or visit medicine centres. To justify my opinion, in particularly undeveloped countries of Asia and Africa the state does not allocate special money for families which have issues regarding standards of living. Therefore, family members have to help and share love with each other in order to pay back to parents for looking after us when we were kids. In conclusion, there exist several strong reasons that underscore the significance of legal responsibility to take care of the elderly population. Even though it is true that the government should apply different social strategies to support them, I firmly believe that a fundamental legal obligation must be taken by their children first. Subsequently, individuals may be helped by the government in the absence of a caregiver or any other lack of finances.