You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that products should be made to last as long as possible, while others think that making the products cheap is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some groups believe that manufacturers must produce goods with long life cycles, while others are in favour of the creation of affordable products for customers. This essay will discuss both perspectives and explain why I agree with the former. The production of cheap products is indeed beneficial for many, especially for people with lower incomes. The availability of such products increases the access for less privileged groups to fulfil both their primary and secondary needs, such as clothes and electronic devices, at cheaper prices. Consequently, those people will be able to allocate their money for other posts, for instance, financing children's education and even holidays. In addition to that, poor people also benefit from the existence of affordable technological devices because they are able to catch up with the trends, leading them to not fall behind in acquiring modern skills. For example, students from poor households can still learn how to code using cheap computers and compete with other students coming from more affluent backgrounds. However, I personally think that producing goods that last long will lead to more significant long-term advantages for society as a whole, not only certain groups. Products that last long will be utilized multiple times which means that less waste will be generated. Our world has witnessed the waste from fast fashion industries that is oftentimes not recyclable. Thousand tons of cheap clothes are shipped from developed countries to developing nations, such as Chile and Mexico, creating more problems for society. Additionally, using products with higher quality leads to less consumption, meaning that fewer manufacturing activities will be conducted, saving a lot of energy. Consequently, we can contribute to the actions to reduce climate change by wearing or using products that can be continuously reused. In conclusion, our society can benefit more by consuming products that last long because this behaviour is more sustainable. At the end of the day, people will save more money from less consumption while at the same contributing to ensuring the sustainability of our environment.