In the future all buses, cars and trucks will be driverless. Only people traveling inside those will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology in the transportation sector has been booming at an unimaginable rate since the last century. Nowadays, we imagine a future where we will not need anyone to drive our vehicles. Though there has been a growing tension in our society about what will happen in such scenarios, especially from the economic and ethical point of view, I think as a community we will benefit more from this type of innovation. First of all, autonomous driving will allow people to concentrate on more important things other than driving. For example, people can rest, read, and have a good time with family while the car is taking care of the journey by itself. Moreover, people who can not drive, especially sick or elderly people, will no longer have to depend on others to go on an excursion. Apart from these, we have financial advantages too. For instance, as the automobiles will be able to operate independently, we may not keep those idle in parking lots. So a larger ride-sharing scheme can be devised and individual people may not need to buy their own transport machines. As a result, a lot of families will be able to save the cost of chauffer or garage rent. However, the main disadvantage of driverless motors is related to job security. Obviously, there are millions of professional drivers all over the world and automating driving poses a threat to their livelihood. In contrast to that, we can say that a similar catastrophic impact was anticipated for the handloom runners at the onset of the Industrial Revolution. But we have proof that technological advancement creates a lot of new job opportunities while diminishing the existing ones. The government, car manufacturers and everyone involved in the industry can work closely to find a solution. In a nutshell, this is a natural progression that vehicles will achieve the capability to drive by themselves with modern artificial intelligence. And I think people will embrace these schemes quite spontaneously as that benefits them directly. So to keep the progress sustainable, we need to explore how we can rehabilitate the people who will be affected.