Some people think the government should subsidize fruit and vegetables to make healthy food more affordable. Other argue that the government should tax unhealthy food instead. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Over the last two or three decades, the eating habits of people have changed drastically and as a result, more and more individuals prefer to eat frozen or packaged food. Public concern has arisen about whether the government should provide funding for healthy food like fruit and green vegetables or impose a tax on unhealthy items. I tend to believe that the government should provide more financial support to nutritious food items. To start with, it is paramount for authorities to make healthy food easily accessible to everyone to promote healthy eating habits among individuals. In addition, if fruit and vegetables are of fair cost, then there is less chance that people will be attracted towards unhealthy food items because everyone knows health is wealth. Hence, a contribution towards promoting healthy food will create a healthy and happy society. On the other hand, imposing a tax on unhealthy food is also a good option to reduce the consumption of food which is harmful to the body. Moreover, a certain amount of tax on less nutritious food would encourage individuals to purchase nutritious food at an affordable price. For example, if a customer is going to pay the same for a packet of Maggi and one kg of fruits, then he will definitely go for the healthy food option. To conclude, the affordability of nutritious food items must be the primary concern of authorities to create an optimal society and an extra charge for unhealthy food will definitely be helpful in reducing the intake of less nutritious food.