Many manufactured food and dring products contain high level of sugar, which causes several health problems. Sugary product should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Irrespective of our age, it is hard for many of us to resist the appeal of mouth watering sweet foods. However, scientifically it has already been proven that high sugar intake can lead to different physical complications. A passive way to demotivate people to purchase such detrimental foods can be to increase the price. However, to me this does not seem logical and in the following sections I will give my postulates behind my stand point. First of all, it is not like that sugar is completely harmful for our body. In fact, our body needs good amount of sugar to produce enough calories to keep us alive and active. If the expenditure for this item is increased, there can be scenarios where some people will not be able to afford the minumum sugar required for the body. Moreover, there will be a bigger socio-economic impact on top of this. Sweetmeat industry is a very big industry connected with multiple other supply chains. For example, farming is associated with this industry through milk, packaging firms also have interest here. All those companies are employing thousands of people. Hence price hike in those items can drastically lower the consumption which in turns can lead to unemployment and poverty. On the other hand, we also need to protect people from jeopardising their own health by unhealthy consumption. One way to make them aware about this is to label sweet products about the amount of sugar they contain. And that can help people to measure how much they should eat. Overall, Iinflating the price of products to reduce the utilization seems counter-intuitive to me. Instead of solving the root cause, which is crossing sugar intake limits, such strategy can introduce unforeseen impact. That is why I do not agree with the proposal. Rather I suggest to devise a scheme where people will have all the available information to take a conscious call whether they should have those desserts or not.