Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries?

Over the past few decades, there has been a tremendous increase in the mortality rates due to curable diseases among individuals residing in less wealthy countries. This is primarily because of the lack of funds required for appropriate medical attention. This essay will discuss the reasons for high death rates and highlight possible interventions from pharmaceutical companies to help this cause. To begin, the main reason for individuals dying from illnesses that have an established treatment in poor countries is the lack of monetary means to access good quality healthcare facilities. This is because the economy in such countries is unstable. As a result, a large proportion of the population is unemployed. Therefore, they cannot afford the costs of treating the disease. For instance, a recent study in Africa revealed that around 60% of the deaths reported in 2019 were a consequence of poor financial conditions. To combat the loss of valuable human life, pharmaceutical companies could provide subsidies in less wealthy countries. This would ensure that every person has the capacity to purchase the required medication to alleviate the symptoms and potentially get cured of a specific disease. This would result in a significant decrease in the number of people dying from diseases which could otherwise be cured. In conclusion, the loss of human lives in poor countries directly correlates to the lack of funds and pharmaceutical institutions play a crucial role in lowering these figures. In my opinion, such companies certainly have to consider the hardships faced by these people and provide their services at a reduced cost.