Some people believe that successful sports teams are always those with the strongest or fittest players. Others think that success depends more on the team’s mental strength. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While a group of people claim that players who have staggering physical power over others are predominantly responsible for the accomplishments of sports teams, a second group hold the view that a team's success is shaped according to the both spiritual and mental resistance of the team as a whole. It is my firm belief that each side has its own merits and demerits to discuss, however, I think victory is unavoidable if a team is mentally bonded together. To begin with, I believe the main reason why people adhere to the notion that the success of a team invariably boils down to a few powerful sportsmen rather than a full team is because of their superior physical properties like body shape and robustness. It would not entirely be an erroneous act to consider certain athletes as game-changers owing to their superiority over their teammates. As an example of this, certain athletes equipped with unmatched physical build such as Ronaldo, Michael Jordan, and Messi can easily shape the result of a match and make a sports team victorious regardless of how powerful other players are. On the other hand, the proponents of the contrary side are convinced that team spirit mixed with mental strength are the decisive factors that make a team prosperous. Furthermore, the absence of team spirit brings about the downfall of sports teams because once the team orientation is spoiled it is pretty tough to recover. A vivid case of the success stories of mentally strong teams over other teams where there is no shared mentality and the power is concentrated in a few individuals is Qatar's victory over Brazil in a World Cup soccer match. Seemingly, the underdog players of Qatar manifested this victory for many days beforehand and established a simple yet effective game strategy against the Brazilians who are prevalent for their soccer skills. Long story short, I think it is possible for any sports team to guarantee a win if the players can embody the team mentality. To sum up, even though fitness is a dominant factor for a player, however, I would like to infer that mentally strong teams are far more likely to be successful due to the ability to act as a team.