In the past, people ate local food in season. Nowadays, people buy a variety of foods from all over the world. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Advances in transportation networks and commodities transit systems globally allow people to have such diverse and varied food in their daily life. Global transport of edible products has several merits, yet there are numerous consequences, extremely concerning consumers from thoroughly following this trend. Consuming food locally and seasonally can be a potent motive for the domestic food industry to develop in various ways. There is a constant demand from consumers for fresh and perishable food, namely meat, vegetables or fruits, which is subjected to diminishing qualities over time, even under high and proper preservation conditions. Being incentivized to meet these consumers’ basic needs, industrial food production in the local area grasps golden chances to improve their productivity or domestic products’ quality. For instance, due to the law of supply and demand; when domestic residents tend to choose local, many food companies focus their strategy on local and seasonal food, resulting in impressive financial profits on the long scale. Another worth-considering benefit of this tendency is its optimistic effects on environmental pollution. Most notably, due to the emergence and widespread usage of modern transportation, there is a significant rise in global food transfer. As an example, crucial transit vehicles ranging from aircraft, ships, trains and so on, consume extensive energy and emit high levels of carbon dioxide. So a shift to diets of seasonal food may alleviate this issue. Ultimately, there are numerous aspects that can be taken advantage of when consuming domestic and seasonal food. Albeit these aforementioned benefits, there is an introduction of multiple disadvantages, especially in economic terms. Importing and exporting edible products regularly becomes the main income of many countries’ economies. Under a hypothetical condition where people's eating habits shift to local food only, the economic wealth, employment opportunities and value generated from international trading will be tremendously impacted. Global trade of food benefits both exporters and importers, as there are many potential and worth-investing, namely selling food or buying ingredients internationally. Not only does the food market benefit economies, it also help address world hunger effectively. Due to different geographical and climate conditions,not all countries enjoy food abundance year-around. Countries that suffer from adverse weather conditions, and tragic disasters frequently face tremendous starvation that lasts for months, which puts residents on low-quality and low-nutrient food. To sum up, I do believe that this trend has its advantages outweighs the downside, while there are some remarkable issues that need to be taken into account. Unless some proper policies occur, this problem will not be handled utterly.