Some people believe holding sports events are too expensive, such as olympic games,and the world cup. But others think in opponent way. Discuss both opinion, and give your own view.

Organizing large sporting events such as the Olympic games and the World Cup requires huge effort and expenditure. Some people argue that it is an extravagance while others think that they are viable to organize without any loss. This essay is going to analyze both these views and an opinion is given below. Large sports meets like the Olympics and the World Cup are organised by spending too much money. This is because the facilities required for these international matches are the most efficient and extravagant things. The quality of the event is decided by the most modern equipment and skilled officials, which demands higher pay requirements. The recently concluded Eurocup in Germany was a good example of this as billions were spent by the UEFA to conduct the tournament. Furthermore, apart from the governing body, the host nation considers this as an advertisement for their hospitality and culture. This leads to competition in expenditure to make sure that participants and viewers are entertained by the most luxurious experiences. For example, Qatar had made a lot of adjustments, which were too expensive, to organise the Football World Cup in 2022. On the other hand, some people believe that this is not such a loss to organise sports events. These big games are performed by well-known athletes and they attract a lot of sponsorships from multinational companies and broadcasting firms. So net worth of the competition will be profitable. The recently concluded cricket world cup in India generated an enormous income for the governing body of international cricket, just in terms of broadcasting rights. Income from tickets was an add-on to this. In addition, the migration of people to watch the sports boosts local economy which is manifested in the GDP of the host country. Hence the net worth will be beneficial. For instance: West Indian countries experienced a boost in their economy during the Twenty20 World Cup. To conclude, Although some believe that organizing big sports events is too expensive, one can say that it is actually the other way around as the income generated by this is more than the spending.