The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Issues related to the effects of social media on us are frequently discussed these days. It is argued that Facebook and Twitter are replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Despite the fact that this trend has some benefits, I would argue that there are more drawbacks. In the following paragraphs, both sides of the views will be discussed in detail with examples. On the one hand, there are a number of demerits associated with virtual communities. The principal disadvantage is the lack of meeting in person. This means that people can't hug or shake each other hands. For example, we only have video calls to connect with others so we will run into problems about reading boy languages and facial expressions. another point is that social applications are the reason for toxic content on the internet which can lead someone to depression syndrome. To explain, there are many famous people who have to deal with aggressive comments or negative energy on online platforms. For instance, a well-known soccer player who got a red card or missed a shot would probably face hurtful criticism. On the other hand, there are a number of merits involved in the given applications. The principal advantage is it helps to shrink the world. In other words, we can have meetings with the teams who live a lot far away from us. To exemplify, in the present, we can rapidly update the global news because of this online software. All things considered, it seems to me that the drawbacks of social platforms slightly outweigh the benefits. Therefore, All of us should be prepared for this modernized world.