Cities are becoming more and more congested and polluted as the number of private cars increases. What are the advantages and disadvantages of owning a car?

Nowadays, cities are becoming increasingly polluted because there are more and more people who possess a car. This essay will present both the advantages and disadvantages of having a private car. The two main advantages of having a private vehicle are travelling fast and not wasting time on public transportation. Firstly, by owning a car, individuals can go anywhere in the shortest amount of time, without having to wait for the public transport vehicle to arrive. Secondly, when a person has their own automobile, they do not have to spend time to figure out ways in which they can reach a location.They have to just drive there, so they have the opportunity to save a lot of time. For example, in order for me to get to school I have two options: one, I can take public transport, and in this way, it takes me around 30 minutes, and two, I can drive until there, and in this way, it takes me less than 10 minutes. That is why having a personal auto vehicle is crucial. However, possessing an auto vehicle can also have some major disadvantages such as wasting money and also polluting the atmosphere. Starting with the economic part, when a person owns a car, they have to spend a big amount of their budget to buy fuel for that car and, additionally, to check the health of that auto vehicle. Continuing with the environmental problems, cars burn fuel and all that carbon dioxide is eliminated in the air, being a main source of air pollution. For instance, in bigger cities, where a lot of people have their own auto, the air is not clean and is a grey colour. In conclusion, having a personal auto can make people arrive fast wherever they want,and can also save them a lot of time, but the price of the fuel and the environmental problems that they cause are some major disadvantages.