In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

The advancement of medical science has significantly extended human life expectancy, leading to an increasing number of aging societies. While there may be some merits associated with elderly people, I strongly believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages, both for the burdens placed on the government and for individuals. In terms of the disadvantages for the government, the growing elderly population places a burden on the public healthcare system and hinders economic development. Specifically, the elderly are more susceptible to illnesses compared to the younger population, necessitating additional resources and healthcare workers for their care. In countries like Canada, such a disproportionate allocation of resources in healthcare can lead to public complaints because Canadians often have to wait at least three months for a simple x-ray. Furthermore, governments may need to slow down economic growth to support the elderly. For example, in Japan, statistics show that by 2040, it would take three young people to support a 65-year-old resident. This implies that a significant portion of the economic growth, driven by the youth, is diverted into supporting the retiring population. It's not just the government; individuals and families also grapple with financial challenges and the risk of burnout. Financially speaking, retirees and their families may need to set aside additional funds in an aging society because pension payments may not cover the expenses of the elderly. In Canada, for instance, if your annual income is $60,000, but you do not work for the government or in hospitals, your pension may amount to just $1,500 a month after retirement. This is concerning because such an amount may not even cover basic expenses, including home and vehicle insurance. Additionally, families with sick elderly members require significant time and energy to provide care. In conclusion, a disproportionate number of elderly people in a society has more drawbacks than advantages because it necessitates improvements in the healthcare system and can slow down economic development. Furthermore, individuals and families are more likely to face financial issues and emotional distress.