Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is an opinion asserting that official authorities should allocate a large part of the public budget to railways instead of roads. While the construction of roads may be beneficial, in my opinion, there are more advantages to providing trains with railways regarding environment and transportation. The main advantage of building roads is that it may alleviate traffic congestion in large urban centres. As a large population can reside in metropolitan zones, if city dwellers utilize their vehicles frequently, overcrowded streets may be inevitable without the adequate capacity of street networks in cities. Ergo, building roads to expand the transportation networks can provide a variety of paths to commute through urban areas. To illustrate, in Tokyo, municipalities have built roads from different city spots to hospitals, universities, and shopping malls. It is indicated that this policy could reduce the time of traffic in the city centre. As a result, new roads around urban areas can expand the transportation capacity, as the main factor in traffic congestion. Notwithstanding, constructing railways to apply trains is confronted with several benefits, the first merit is a higher level of transportation speed via trains rather than vehicles because trains are technically facilitated with more sophisticated and powerful engines to transport goods over a long distance. Furthermore, having utilized electricity as a source of energy, trains are taken as a cause of a decrease in the consumption of fossil fuels, leading to a solution for environmental issues, such as air pollution. For example, the majority of European countries implemented a plan to substitute hybrid trains for petrol-fuelled trains to reduce the emission of carbon dioxide to mitigate global warming. Ultimately, the possibility of accidents between trains is highly lower than that between cars on roads, thus representing a safer type of transport. Consequently, it is highly fair that a great deal of money will be spent on expanding rail line. In conclusion, although both of them can be associated with benefits, the advantages of trains serving high-quality transportation for a cleaner environment outweigh those of vehicles, thus justifying the focus on railways.