Modern technology, such as personal computers and the internet have made it possible for many people to do their work from home at least part of the time instead of going to an office everyday. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of this solution?

Nowadays, more and more people are embracing the evolution of technology. One of the results is a new way of working, namely working from home. This essay shall debate whether this option has a positive or negative impact. One of the advantages that innovation brought is the flexible job environment. Having a strong internet connection and a notebook computer determined the beginning of remote working. A recent study showed that the population is spending almost 2 years of their lives commuting to their jobs. Furthermore, employees can perform their day-to-day job tasks' from the comfort of their homes and still be present in online conference meetings. Employers have been facing multiple challenges in the traditional work environments but this changed when the pandemic started in 2020. Since then, the number of companies which are implementing a remote work environment increased. The time used to spend commuting can be now an efficient time for individuals to improve their quality of life. A possible disadvantage of working from home may be the lack of social interactions between humans. Almost 9 hours are traditionally spent 5 days a week at work. In the past years, this amount significantly changed as workers have the option to work remotely. Moreover, this determines that social interaction between colleagues is diminished. Since the pandemic started, multiple cases of people suffering from anxiety have been registered. More psychological problems are resulting if individuals are not communicating or living in their own personal space. In addition, even if the employee is highly performing in his ordinary tasks may notice a slowdown in his teamwork abilities. To sum up, technology gives multiple opportunities to people, one of them being remote working. In my opinion, the advantages may outweigh the disadvantages if the free time is used properly while not lacking social activities.