With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

As technology moves forward, the rise of e- books is evident, however, it decreases the amount of paper books produced. It is thought by some people that this development is a good step forward, while others argue the opposite. There are certainly many advantages of such development. Since questions about the environmental impact of paper books have been relevant, having new publications online only, would decrease the amount of trees cut for the paper production of books. The more writers and publishers will do so, the better the sustainability rate is possible to achieve. Moreover, from the individual's perspective, having an e-book is more budget-friendly than buying expensive physical books in a store and reading them only once. Furthermore, it become possible to have an audio function, which makes books more accessible. As an additional benefit, e- books do not take up a lot of space, compared to the traditional ones. These are some of the advantages of the trend, however, there is a different side of it that should be taken into consideration. Despite the obvious appeal, there are certain drawbacks to be aware of. As more and more services are transferred online, the amount of screen time has dramatically increased, which causes sight problems for many. Therefore, if the books, that were previously a great way to spend time offline, are also going to be read through devices, people would become even more dependent on such gadgets. When it comes to publishers and bookstores, there are going to be more people losing their jobs because of e- books since not many workers will be needed in book production. Similarly, bookstores might not have a big variety of new books, if those are preferred to be published online. Previously it was possible for people to resell books, however, in terms of electronic ones, it is not possible. Certainly, these are not that dramatic disadvantages, however, they will directly affect the lives of many. To conclude, as e- books are becoming more and more popular, they make reading more affordable and convenient, however, there are certain drawbacks to consider. These are the countless job losses as well as the reduction of physical books in bookstores.