In the past most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and the smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development.

There is no doubt that these days more people prefer working online from their houses. The question is whether this is a positive or negative change. In this essay, I am going to discuss both sides by providing evidence for each claim. In addition, I will give my own opinion. In terms of advantages, working from home could increase the efficiency and productivity of the employees. The main reason given to support this claim is that people tend to be more concentrated at home than at the workplace for many reasons. One of these reasons is that homes are - for sure - much quieter than any other workplace. To illustrate, my father works at a sales company. Although he used to always go to his office at the company to work from there, nowadays he just wakes up and works from his desk at home. This caused him to increase the number of his sales, thus raising his monthly income, in addition to having more free time to spend with us. On the other hand, online jobs could have some cons, such as continuous delays if there is a bad internet connection. In other words, in some countries (such as Egypt and most African countries), a fast internet connection is not widely available. Secondly, working from home could be boring for some people, as it eliminates the social life. In fact, employees, who work online, lose their connections with most of their colleagues. This is because they do not travel anymore to their old workplace. In conclusion, despite the disadvantages of online jobs, the advantages far outweigh the downsides. Moreover, I believe that the downsides could be easily solved. For instance, a strong Wi-Fi (or router) can be used to provide a faster connection. Therefore, I think that companies should still continue to provide the facility of working from home.