Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, a lot of museums do not charge their visitors, while others have entrance fees. In my opinion, I believe that the positive point of charging fees is more than being absolutely free, however, I must confess that it has some disadvantages for museums. One of the benefits of having an entrance fee is that it definitely helps the museums to maintain their exhibitions to be in good condition. In other words, museums can invest the received money to maintain the building in good quality. Moreover, the revenue can be used for building extension or renovation. For instance, in Kazakhstan, most of the museums are well maintained and keep on growing because the government charges the visitors. As a result, charging people for admission to museums certainly benefits museums for their maintenance and growth. Another benefit is that when museums are free, people will have a different perspective. That is to say, they might think that the museums do not have anything special to offer the audiences. To illustatre, although most museums in Malaysia are free, the locals are not interested in visiting them because they feel that the services which are offered are not the same as museuwms with entrance fees. As a consequence, many free museums have low rates of attendance. Nevertheless, on the other hand, the majority of people around the world live below the poverty line and they cannot afford museum entrance fees. For example, according to the UN 90% of Egyptians never see the main museum in Cairo because the price of the entrance is so high for them. Hence, attendance at museums each year is lower and lower. To sum up, I believe that the advantages of entrance fees for museums far ouweigh outweighs any of its minor drawbacks. If governments create some discounts for poor citizens and increase museum fees for international tourists, it may help them to attract more visitors and at the same time, they can ensure that the buildings are well maintained.