Space travel has been possible for some time, and some people believe that space tourism could be developed in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is widely recognised that the advent of space tourism has undoubtedly marked a significant milestone in human exploration and scientific progress, with many arguing that this field could make ground in the years to come. Despite some legitimate benefits, I believe this commercialisation is an unwelcome development overall. Granted, supporters might assert that the advantages of space travel would be highly significant in terms of the educational and scientific sectors. As for education, this newfound commercial tourism provides people with intensive knowledge of outer space, allowing them to unravel the mysteries of the cosmos. Besides its educational value, it could greatly contribute to science, helping humanity search for new life in the cosmos, which is arguably suitable for humans to settle in. Such scientific research can somewhat safeguard humanity in case the earth is badly damaged due to global warming. Notwithstanding the aforementioned promising purposes, I would argue that space tourism would raise serious concerns. First, it certainly presents environmental challenges, with a large carbon footprint being released into space, exacerbating climate change. If people's demands for space travel become increasingly popular, environmental issues will become more complicated. Worse still, the unequal distribution of resources in developing this field could instill a sense of discontentment in society. This is mainly because the enormous costs of space tourism may perpetuate economic disparities, making it accessible only to the privileged few. Given these, this promising strategy seems perfectly unwarranted for future development. To summarise, although there are certainly some merits of space tourism in educational and scientific domains, I would contend that its dire repercussions should be taken into consideration. Therefore, it is unnecessary to invest in this commercial field.