In many parts of the world there are now more multi-generational households, e.g. where grandparents live with parents and children, than in the past. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, in our society there are more living arrangements in which grandparents live with their parents and kids than in the past times. In my opinion, the reason for this would be their traditions in different cultures or nationalities and also their individual economical issues. However, I feel that living together with your grandparents is an ingenious solution for those who are willing to make some savings and to support each other but there are also some downsides to it that I am willing to debate here. Firstly, I would like to mention the unbalanced economy we are facing now. Whilst in the past, people had more accessible building materials and financial possibilities due to the vast appearance of the technological related jobs that started appearing in the 2000’s, the major inflation from today caused humans to save their money and be smart with it. Therefore, a greater amount of people are willing to live with their family at the same moment. In contrast, this also means extended relatives connections, less costs for food and utility bills. On the other hand, there is a major development issue especially for the youth that are trying to start a family with the opposite sex. The reserved privacy and the absence of their personal living space can be a crucial problem when it comes to breathing under the same roof with others. The vast majority of space would be occupied by the elders and parents, thus, there will be less privacy for the younger generations that are in their maturity period. Overall, there is not any particular negative opinion whatever it is good or bad to live with your grandparents due to the economical pressure that humans are encountering nowadays, it is widely believed that having your personal space is a better way for your self development thanks to the Isolation that you will experience.