Due to the development and fast exapansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small business are unable to compete. Some people believe that the of small business will bring about the death of the local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In some countries, developed countries to be specific, supermarkets are developing and rapily exapanding leaving small business with less potential to compete. A number of people have an assumption that local communities will not exit if small business are not actively operating. I disagree with the idea that this is the end of them. It is without doubt that large business such as supermarkets are expanding fast in several nations, and there are few benefits as to why they should substitute small business. One of the main reason is that supermarkets can create employment opportunities to individuals that lives in these communities as result the local communities will continue to grow. For example, Supermarkets employee more people to work in different department in their stores such as cashiers, cooks, drivers, just to metion a few. Moreover, supermarket offer convenience and variety to consumers since they get products from different manufactures and will be able to compare the prices before buy unlike buying fom the small business. Although bigger companies are more powerful in many way, local business can still find a way to survive and the future of the local communities can not be determined by them. To begin with, there are some advantages for local business that can not be replace, for instance, the relationship the owner of a small business have and the customers, their interaction develop into friendship that can't be replace which will make the customers always come back to support the business due to the relatioship they share. Moreover, the culture of local communities is not just about commercial activities, is the value of supporting each other when in need. Otherwise, it would just be another market. In conclusion, supermarkets contribute to the declined of small business but the effect of supermarkets on local communities can be mitigated and the sprit of local communities can still thrive.