In recent years, many local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

The local market is being replaced by the shopping complex that allows people to shop all in one stop. In my opinion, this is a positive development as a number of businesses can be located under one roof and it facilitates many amenities. The primary reason why people prefer visiting malls rather than convenient stores is that everything is available in the same place. There is a good variety of products available and even it becomes convenient for a person to price-match the product. Visiting the large purchasing center, saves people time however, when shopping from local shops, one has to travel excessively to find a good product. The fact that Eaton Centre in Downtown Toronto is considered an ideal place to visit as it has everything starting from clothes, accessories to goods for home at better deals. Certainly, discounted prices for branded items attract buyers. Secondly, there are several facilities available within, that satisfies the customers. These purchasing precincts have washrooms, food courts, massaging chairs and even games that entertain people of all different ages. Some teenagers prefer going to these stores as they can go shopping and meet their friends at the same time. This is evident by seeing Vaughan Mills, the largest mall in Vaughan has not only a big sitting area but also has foot massagers that allow shoppers to relax their feet. Suffice it to say, that these centers have turned the entire purchasing experience into luxury. To conclude, in recent years, the street business has been diminished because of the comfort zone of massaging chairs and the large dining area provided at the big complex. Moreover, everything is present in one place that allows folks to enjoy themselves without worrying about roaming here and there.