In modern society, ambition is more and more important. How important is ambition for being successful in life? Is it positive or negative?

We are living in a fast-changing world, and our lives are totally different from the ones a couple of decades ago. Many people believe that ambition is beneficial for success. In this essay, I intend to discuss the importance of being ambitious and provide personal options. To begin with, if people are ambitious in their work, it is possible to finish their work perfectly and get praise from colleagues and managers. In other words, when they desire to achieve their goals sincerely, they are able to have strong responsibility and learn some skills actively. For instance, when people want to be an outstanding executive, they would like to master management skills which are helpful to increase working efficiency. Only in this way can they receive respect from employees. Therefore, they will learn management knowledge in their spare time. Nevertheless, everything has pros and cons. It can not be denied that ambition causes a lot of compete problems. To elaborate, when people have exceeded ambition, they may generate some thoughts which are harmful to others’ profit. Meanwhile, it will destroy the fairness of society and impact confidence between people. A prime example is that when a company intends to expand the marketing, it may report some false information which is detrimental to competitors. This bad behavior will make a difference to customer’s judgement. In conclusion, ambition plays a crucial role in success. Although ambition has effects on compete environment, I still consider that appropriate ambition is conducted to promote the development of society.